Baseball Doesn’t Need To Expand Postseason

(St. Louis, Mo) I was perusing around the internet today and one story about baseball caught my attention. I would’ve expected that it would be a World Series preview but I was mistaken. This story caught my attention for the wrong reasons.

According to several sources MLB is considering shortening the regular season to add more playoff teams. I think that just opening up a can of worms that doesn’t need to be opened.

First of all, I’ll give you that the regular season is a little too long. It’s 162 games and can drag on for ages if you’re team is out of contention. If you look at shortening the season you have to think about the record books. Do you update and revise to set records at say 154 games into the season?

A Dodger fan waves a rally towel during game 3...
Image via Wikipedia

Secondly there is the issue of revenue. Cutting games at the end of the year will cost MLB money and they have proposed the idea of expanding the playoffs to make up for that. But that doesn’t seem like a reasonable soultion to me. Do you really think they would remotely consider anything that will make them lose money? After all it’s a business and 9 times out of 10 all that matters is the money. So let’s be realistic about that option.

Simply put, if they expand the postseason we will become just another diluted playoff sport just like the NHL and the NBA who’s playoffs drag on for months. It would hurt the quality of the games and I believe it wouldn’t generate the revenue you’d think.

Seriously, if the Rangers-Yankees game on a Sunday was outrated by the Jacksonville Jaguars game what will happen if you get a series featuring San Diego and Florida where few people know who the players are? The other issue with that is scheduling. Do you go back to having multiple games on at same time? If I remember correctly Commissioner Selig has bragged about MLB’s ablility to showcase one game at a time.

If it isn’t broke don’t fix it. Baseball has bigger problems to worry about than length of season or the expansion of the postseason. Fix those problems first and then come back and ask me about this again.

Agree? Disagree? If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions please feel free to reply in the comments section below. Or you can email me at stlsportszone@live.com. I’m also on Twitter so you can follow me @stlsportszone and I will glady return the favor. Please subscribe to my blog as well and you can get the latest posts from the St. Louis Sports Zone. Thanks for reading.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “Baseball Doesn’t Need To Expand Postseason

Leave a Reply

